My #WeNeedDiverseBooks resolution

I will be joining Kara in this pledge. My Goodreads pledge is to read 100 books in 2015. This new resolution in support of #WeNeedDiverseBooks means half of my books read will represent diversity in all its strength and story.

Kara Newhouse

The We Need Diverse Books campaign is challenging its supporters to pledge to read a certain number of diverse books this year. I am pledging to read 5o.

tumblr-50-pledge

What qualifies as a diverse book? As the campaign challenge puts it: “Books where people of color can be first-page HEROES rather than second-class citizens. Books in which LGBTQIA characters can represent social CHANGE rather than social problems. And books where people with disabilities can be just…people.” I’ll also be making sure a majority of those books are also by diverse authors.

The campaign focuses on children’s literature, and the majority a large portion of my diverse reads will probably be picture books, but I will also be counting adult books, like “Half a Yellow Sun” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which I read at the end of 2014 and highly recommend.

Ngozi Adichie gave a TED talk on the critical misunderstandings created…

View original post 65 more words

2 thoughts on “My #WeNeedDiverseBooks resolution

Leave a Reply

