This Happens to Me Every Year

Mother's Day flowers for you, in case everyone else forgot... ©amomnextdoor, 2012

Mother’s Day flowers for you, in case everyone else forgot… ©amomnextdoor, 2012

Once again, alone on Mother’s Day. Alone with my two young children, that is. My Fictional Husband (FH) has gallivanted off to Europe for business, and just about now is probably stepping bleary-eyed and crick-backed from one plane to another. My son went to bed with a fever of 102.5, and we three–the Birthday Girl, Agent 006 and I–are home alone together all day tomorrow, for Mother’s Day.

My FH kept asking me what I wanted for Mother’s Day and I confess I was unable to come up with a good answer. Am I supposed to want to glory in my motherhood, the fevered whining and competitive bids for negative attention from little sister? Or am I supposed to want a break from it all, all the everything I normally carry? And if that’s what I want, who’s going to give it to me?

I’ll settle for a healing full night’s sleep and maybe a side of epiphany. Since I’m too busy momming to come up with anything new for this year’s Hallmark Moment, I’ll have to settle for regurgitating past miracles of wisdom. I write to remember what I know, and this is all I’ve got so far–some of my favorite posts about being a mom, in case you haven’t had a chance to see them yet:

Lao-Tzu Was Never a Mother

Rage, or the Distress Call of the Modern Mother

Ten Things She Can Do For Herself: Apologize (Less)

or simply, The List

Two and the Double Negative

Me! Too!

The Smile That Saves

The Mother’s Day That Didn’t Happen, and the One That Did

For all you moms out there, Happy Mother’s Day! If you’ve got a favorite post about being a mom on your blog or someone else’s, please post a link in the comments below. I’m probably going to need it.

3 thoughts on “This Happens to Me Every Year

Leave a Reply

